Skip to Main Content

Scholarship Fund

Donate Now

As part of its mission to promote the advancement of women in the insurance industry, APIW awards scholarships annually to exceptional college students majoring in insurance and risk management.  Since 1987, APIW has awarded scholarships to outstanding candidates at St. John’s University School of Risk Management (formerly The College of Insurance) in New York, and in later years, The Katie School of Insurance, Illinois State University, through the APIW Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Following the tragic events of September 11th, which brought about our desire to create a symbolic and encompassing remembrance, the name of the scholarship was changed to the “APIW Memorial Scholarship”  to honor all those within the APIW family who were lost that day, and to remember all APIW members who have lost their lives prematurely.  The “APIW Lana James Memorial Scholarship” is awarded to outstanding candidates at The Katie School of Insurance, Illinois State University.  This scholarship honors a dedicated APIW volunteer and Board Member who died prematurely in 1992.  Additional scholarships are also given on behalf of our New York and Chicago Networks from time to time.

In keeping with APIW’s tradition, scholarship donations can be made in honor of, or in memory of, a specific person by following the instructions below.  Donors and their honorees will be acknowledged when the scholarships to which they contributed are awarded, which takes place at the annual APIW Insurance Woman of the Year Reception.